Organization By-Laws

The organization’s guiding structure is linked below. Recent amendments to the by-laws were approved at the mid-year meeting of the Presidents and Chancellors in January 2016 at the University of California, Davis.

LGBTQ Presidents By-Laws, January 2016

In 2010, Presidents gathered in Los Angeles and elected to volunteer themselves as the Steering Committee of the new organization for a period of one year from the date of the next annual meeting of the American Council on Education (ACE), in March 2011. Adopting a governance structure headed by gender balanced co-chairs, who, together with committee chairs and one partner representative, would form the Steering Committee, the following individuals agreed to serve in the roles described:


  • Ray Crossman, Adler University
  • Karen Whitney, Clarion University
  • Terry Allison, Indiana University, South Bend
Partner Representative
  • TBD
Governance & Membership
  • Erika Endrijonas, Los Angeles Valley College
Program Chair
  • TBD
Communications Chair
  • Felice Nudelman, Antioch University, Midwest
  • Charles Middleton, Executive Director
  • Anthony M. Alfano, Assistant Director, Graduate Fellow
The organization’s annual meeting will take place in mid-January in conjunction with the ACE Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. This meeting is open to all who meet the criteria for membership: sitting and former out LGBTQ presidents of Higher Education institutions/organizations (U.S. and internationally).